My Favorite Things

My favorite color is yellow. I like to memorize nonsense poetry, like from Alice in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass and The Hunting of the Snark. The ‘Alice’ books are in my top favorite books, which is saying a lot since I read constantly. I also like fairies, but not Tinkerbell. At least not the one from the Disney movies. I guess the one in the book (it’s one of my favorites too) is okay. I like The Wind in the Willows, the movie, even though there’s no really good girl characters in it. I like my room. I like lemons. And yellow punchbuggy convertibles. I like horses and guinea pigs and spiders and blackbirds and owls and wolves and bears– but not grizzlies. I like staying up late. I like to talk. I like to hang out with my friends. I like to talk in a British accent and make up radio shows. I like being homeschooled even though this is my first year of it. I like reading and writing and stories. I like camping and big fires and chocolate and stars. I like woods and exploring and fallen logs and stuff like that to climb on. I like my family. I like the fort in our backyard. I like trees. I like the whole wide world. I like Italy and learning foreign languages. I like odd, strange, cool, interesting, and long words: take antidisestablishmentarianism, tintinnabulation, and just words that sound cool like ‘aloof” for example. I like playing Dutch Cards with my friend Miss Prez. I like sleepover and all-nighters. I like movies. I like The Thief Lord (a LOT, book and movie, but book the most.) I like being Catholic. I like St. George. I like Irish dance. I like playing the flute. I hope I’ll like being in a play (my first rehearsal ever is tomorrow, I’m an Indian in Peter Pan). I like to ramble on about nothing in particular. I like music, usually old stuff or stuff no one else really listens to, like Leeland and Sanctus Real and Rush and Spirit and ‘The Night Chicago Died’. I like making up dances to songs (once again, ‘The Night Chicago Died’). I like… a lot of things. Old fashioned things. New things. The whole entire universe. I’m easily amused and easily pleased, but I don’t give up easily on things I’m trying to do or get or find or catch.  

That’s most everything, I think. So now you know….. don’t you feel absolutely enlightened now?

Leave a Reply

