Gotta get on back to the animal zoo

(“Oh, No! Somethin’ went wrong….”)

There is this place that Mom and I drive past every weeek on the way to Irish dance. We call it “The People Zoo.” It’s this little tiny courtyard thing between two big office buildings, and it has tables where you can eat outside. One time, we passed it and saw like five or six people all pacing in the same direction, talking on their cell phones. They were walking the exact same way, holding the phone up to the same ear, etc. And the weird thing was it was like they were so absorbed in their own little world that they didn’t notice that they were in this zoo thing, or that they were all like clones or zombies, glued to their phones. (The cheetas at our zoo always pace so much, because their enclosure is very small when you think of how fast and far a cheetah can run, and so they’re really OCD now. There are dirt paths where they just keep walking and walking and wearing the grass down. I wish they would redo their enclosure, but they just started working on the elephants’ , so I guess they’ll never get around to the cheetahs. However, I’m getting off subject….) Anyway, it reminded us of the zoo, so we always look to see if there is anyone in the people zoo. Now that it’s cold we see them less and less, but that is how it’s done in the real zoo as well.

I hope I never become enslaved to technology. I like to think that I never will, but there is always that lurking possibility. It would be so easy! However, that’s why I try to make sure when I’m using the computer, it’s for something thoughtful or creative, or to write/work. For example, the websites I use the most are Apricotpie, email, and this blog itself. Maybe my blog is a bit frivolous of me, as I try to be frugal with my time spent online, but at least I am writing and thinking, trying to share ideas and experiences. Actually, though, I think blogging has helped me be more observant. Whenever we go somewhere, I kind of stare away all the conversations and stuff that we have in case I want to share them here. It’s got me to try and write more essays, to describe with clarity. So it’s actually like a writing excercise. Except I do it anyway, so the improvements on my writing is a bonus.

I used to always listen to music from Youtube whenever I was online. Now I try to only do that when I need something to set the mood for whatever scene I’m writing in one of my novels, or when I am actually just listening to music. It’s harder to write poetry when there is a song in the background, becuase then somehow the lines of poetry end up fitting the music, and then the cadence and rythm isn’t quite right when you go back to read it. It’s harder to think with music constantly in the background. Plus, I just read something in Newsweek about silence, and how it’s helpful. I’ve read a lot of things about silence. Not to mention that the constant noise makes it harder to focus and let God speak to you. So I’ve been trying to incorporate more silence into my life as well. Or even just quiet. I suppose there is never complete silence, with the dishawasher’s hum, or the clacking of these keys right now, Mom and Dad talking, Poncho singing war songs in the basement, or even the sound of oneself breathing. But that is still enough room to think and to listen.

I feel that my thoughts are very scattered. Partly, this is due to the fact that I’m still rather ill today. Besides, there is so much to say on a subject such as this, but I don’t feel like ranting aimlessly either, for fear of boring you. Maybe I need to split it all up into different categories, like Silence, Internet, Phone, Facebook, Email, Listening, etc. But that would take forever. Hmm…. I think I’m gonna call this a day for now and write more on this wide subject tomorrow, or whenever.

Peace and Nolliag Shona,
–Pen

Leave a Reply

