Dear God: I know they might’ve seemed like a good idea at the time… but thousand-leggers need to go.

Dodge: “Hey, are you a good shot?” He comes running down here breathlessly to ask me this.
Me: “Er… why?”
Dodge: “I’m trying to shoot a thousand legger THIS BIG with the nerf rifle, but I need a second shooter.”
Me: “I’ll pass.”

Right now the basement is my shelter. The chair is high enough that the bugs can’t get me!! So begins summer. EWW EWWW EWWWWWWW. Unless Dad does the “early strike” we’re likely to be infested with ginormous black ants soon, as companions to the massive, hairy thousand-leggers that already come out every so often just to give me nightmares. Yes, I have nightmares about bugs. Always have. I mean, I am not the kind of girl who screams and cries when there’s like a little speck on the floor that may or may not be a spider; in fact, there are several different spider buddies of mine living in my room. (I like spiders. They’re cute. And I like honey bees, too. What can I say, I’m weird.) But I simply cannot coexist with creatures that have a bajillion legs and grow to be longer and thicker than my fingers. Which are quite long, I assure you.

Well, anyway. I digress. I suppose the reason there are thousand leggers is so that I can be trapped in the basement and forced to update my blog. Mom has been bugging me (no pun intended, hahaha) about putting up a new post. But I needed something lighthearted… No more educational stuff for a while. Time for a break, for our brains to be filled with dust and bits of fluff, as a certain headmaster would say.

Dodge just came downstairs… “The bug is dead. I repeat, the bug is dead. We are commencing vaccuum disposal.”

Well, thank goodness. Okay, so what was I talking about? Oh, yes. Randomness. Well, and kind of my likes/dislikes.
Wanna know something I really like?
Eating dark chocolate while listening to Rush’s “Madrigal” and staring out at the rain. Most relaxing. And…..
Driking chamomile tea with buttered home-made bread, or my special secret-recipie muffins. (I really want to make those again. Like, now. Or, I want to learn to do rasin scones.) While reading my copy of Jane Eyre. Because my copy is special and smooshy and smells nice. 

And lastly, I love having brothers who use words like “commencing”.

Love,
Pen

6 thoughts on “Dear God: I know they might’ve seemed like a good idea at the time… but thousand-leggers need to go.

  1. Rachel

    Dear Pen,
    This is Rachel, intresting thoughts. Recently, I had a lively disscussion concerning a similar topic. However, the creepy-crawly creature that served as our subject was a cocroach. And the same question was presented to God. What purpose does a cocroach serve? No answer was settled upon, however, a handy dandy insecta killer divice was suggested. Perhaps it will help with the thousand-leggers. Borax and Powdered sugar. But if you have small pets, Borax will kill them too. Just a friendly warning. Tell Dodge.

  2. Pingback: Come and see the spider, in the middle of the kitchen. Hanging from a thread! « Mayonnaise & Moonlight

Leave a Reply

