Reporting Live from the DHF’s!

We are internet-less at my house because the internet box broke. :( So I’m writing this quick dispatch from the DHFs’ house!! I am waiting for them to get back from their dance lesson.. Following a day of making rosary bracelets. Also my Grandpa Vegas took me to the Lakewood Farmer’s Market earlier today, which may I say was wayyyy better than the West Side Market. Less variety, but no one was shouting at me and I knew it was all local. So, that was sucessful. Plus everything was a good price (13 ears of corn for 5 bucks, and they were picked this morning!).

My before-end-of-summer-to-do list is coming along as well. I can’t believe Mom is already thinking about school. Luckily I don’t have to buy new notebooks or anything, I’m just reusing from last year… So what I need to get ready for now is the county fair. Lots of stuff to do for that! Bread making, dress-finishing, watercoloring, gardening. Yay! Summer is awesome. Even though it’s still hot. Blarg. But at least the evenings are nice. Actually it’s very peaceful here. I was sitting out on the front porch, admiring the DHF’s hard sanding work, thinking, pondering, listening to the cicaidas. I stared at their sunflower. I watched a few birds that hopped into the yard, apparently not noticing me. This summer I have discovered the art of sitting still and having stillness inside as well, stillness in my thoughts so that I can actually enjoy the twilit sky and the warm breeze, not have a hundred thousand thoughts running wild through my head. Being still is becoming increasingly important in my days…

Well, Mom calls. Tis all for now.

Much Love,
Pen

One thought on “Reporting Live from the DHF’s!

Leave a Reply

