Lured by Language

I’ve decided I want to learn how to speak Spanish and French.
I’m way too optimistic.

I mean, look at what happened to learning Spanish at school. I get bored because you learn colors, numbers, and where-is-the-bathroom. How can I have a conversation like that? I’m the sort of person who wants to learn the hard stuff first, because it’s really hard but at least you’re really getting into it and you feel like you are actually making progress. I don’t dip a toe in the water, I do a cannonball and if I almost drown oh well.

If I try to learn French, no one else in my family will know it, so I will get no practice.

But watch me try anyway.

Like I always say. Optimism has no cure.

Yours Incurably,
Pen

PS: incurable is actually one of my favorite words, by the way.

3 thoughts on “Lured by Language

  1. I, too, have started learning French on a regular basis and am posting my ruminations and difficulties. There’s something exciting about traveling to new territory–physical and expressive, and I’m nothing if not an incurable wanderer.
    For practice, go to France. There’s really no other way. Or watch French tv secretly. Good luck. I’ll be cheering for all of us learners!
    Amicalement,
    Taline
    (Passages Home:http://talinedv.wordpress.com)

Leave a Reply

