it’s Christmas time in the city…

and everywhere else too.

The final phases of putting up and decorating the tree are done. Pretty much everything is ready, though I am still trying to find a few presents for people. Etcetera, etcetera, ho ho ho.

Every time I see wrapping paper that says Ho Ho Ho I mistakenly think it says Ohio.

It is still snowing off and on. I love it, and today after Mass I saw a huge flock of Canada geese grazing in the field beside the church. They all raised their heads when I walked by, crunching ice. Then when I made goose noises at them they resumed ignoring me and allowed me to watch them eat, annoy each other, honk, and walk around. Their steps actually made noise on the frozen grass. Somehow, when I could hear them walking and hear their feathers flapping, it made them seem actually real and alive. Not that I didn’t know they were before, but it just struck me that way.

Hmmm. I don’t have much to say, but I am posting anyway because it’s been too long.

Oh. Well, a few adventures have occured:
Dodge pulled out one of his “mostly loose” molars yesterday and showed it to me;
We got season 2 of Dr Quinn Medicine Woman;
I taught myself weaving and am learning how to make patterns;
I am teaching myself a bit of guitar;
I had a halfway OK time at HSYM tonight;
I am currently reading a book called The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society which is actually quite good;
and… I think that is all for now. I am in desperate need of some poem-writing…

Love,
Pen

6 thoughts on “it’s Christmas time in the city…

  1. Sharon

    I used to like geese – until I went to a cemetery and couldn’t walk cause of the droppings. Then, we had one who nested right next to the sidewalk at work – the blasted thing would attack anyone who walked by. We’d have to walk in the grass on the other side of the sidewalk to get by…. SHEES! never knew geese were insane.

    1. pen2sword

      I’ve been attacked by a goose before. It was sitting in the middle of a parking lot driveway for over a week and I wanted to make sure it was OK. So I hopped out of the car and walked over to it. Only then did I notice the second goose sitting on one of the “parking lost islands”. Well, the one in the driveway jumped up and went crazy when I walked past the second goose. Apparently they were both guarding their nest… I thought that was kind of a dumb place to nest, but I gave them credit for thumbing their noses (beaks?) at the parking lot’s anti-nature-ness.

Leave a Reply

