good morning, good afternoon, good evening, and good night.

I told you I would have more to say on the morrow! And here I am.

Well, Mom and I finished watching the last of our movies from the library. (Dodge during Castaway: “No! Wilson!”) Oh, and there was another library movie that I probably shouldn’t have been as wowed by as I was: The Truman Show.  (PS: Disney totally ripped off the premise of The Truman Show for Bolt, if that gives you an idea of what the whole movie’s about.) And if you haven’t watched the movie, then I think you should, even if you are like me and you are sort of put off by the main actor’s teeth; they are somewhat terrifying.

Anyway, The Truman Show is so Fakeworld! The perfect little happy town, with all the happy people… And the trees! If you watch this movie, pay attention to the forest scene, I actually yelped out loud. In fact, a lot of the movie was pretty creepy. One of the best scenes in the movie is when he is walking across the docks and he just can’t walk any more, and he looks down and sees a little half-sunken boat. I think my stomach actually twisted. (I may have been hungry, though.) I was pretty disturbed! And more disturbed when I found out why he couldn’t cross! And even more disturbed when I found out WHY why he couldn’t cross! Other creepy things included the moon, and his wife–would not want to meet her in a dark alley! The choco-whatever scene was also one of the best.

The ending was really well done I thought. His ending line was like, that Truman hadn’t been as ‘pure’ as the producer had thought; Truman had acted, he had recited lines. (Which, don’t we all?) I don’t know what that is supposed to mean or if that was even the point, because maybe I was reading too much into it (Mom said she’d never gotten that from the ending), but I liked it.

Well, I am off to attend to the care and feeding of my younger brothers…
~Pen

PPS: Has anyone reading this watched The Truman Show? And if so, what were YOUR thoughts? I am terribly curious.

2 thoughts on “good morning, good afternoon, good evening, and good night.

  1. Francis

    So sorry, my dear….I watched it too many years ago to remember anything but I felt weirdy weird weird during the whole movie….Didn’t like the way it made me feel…..Can’t comment on what it all meant….dark and shadowey is all I can remember….Plus, I really really really don’t like the actor….He is creepy on screen and off, in my humble opinion….

    1. pen2sword

      I agree with you about the actor. Definite creeper.
      I think it’s interesting that you remember dark and shadowed, since mostly everything– houses, bikes, clothes– is fakeworld-bright, crisp, clean colors. But I the “soul” of everything is rather dark.
      It’s pretty much a weirdly weird movie, but the questions contained in it were interesting to me. Like reality vs perception, fakeworldiness and its repercussions, and social commentary about reality TV gone too far. On those fronts the movie was kind of ahead of its time.On the actor front, Ultimate Fail. ;)

Leave a Reply

