an artsy coming-of-age film about artsy kids coming of age

Holy cow! It’s been way too long since I posted. So much has changed!

By which I mean: I am now eighteen.
By which I also mean: Nothing really changed all that much.
By which I really mean: It did change, but it was already changing, because change is gradual and everybody ought to know that.

Well, I like being 18 so far. It’s interesting and ironic because I’m numerically both a teenager and an adult. (Non-numerically, I’m still just Pen.) But I will say, I was kind of sad to see 17 go. Ah, how can I explain the spectacular fabulousness of that age? Oh, I know…

A Summary of Ages and the Expectations Attached
by Pen

Age 16: You are now supposed to 1) look suddenly gorgeous, or at least like you’re 20; 2) drive a car; 3) have a boyfriend, and 4) basically live inside an 80’s movie. [Sadly, I saw a pair of flowered, tapered jeans the other day, so this last one is more attainable than originally thought.]

Age 17:

Age 18: Um, buy lottery tickets? Oh, and voting. Riiiight. 

See, age seventeen is “a perfect and absolute blank”, as Lewis Carroll would say. Which means that anything you do is automatically awesome and imbued with a sense of youth/joy/freedom. Oh, also, you can pretend “I Saw Her Standing There” is about yourself.

But I wouldn’t say I’m bummed to be 18, either. Not at all. I am quite pleased. The only downside is, if anyone thinks I am ages twelve to fourteen ever again from here on out, I will promptly explode. Also, I may shoot flames out of my eyes at the first random person who makes a snippy remark about “welcome to the real world/adulthood” any time I say something is hard.  So stand clear. You were warned.

Anyway, enough about aging. And more about… ummmmmm….

See?!? SEE?!?! This is why I didn’t blog for such a long time! I am starved for material! My family hasn’t done anything weird or of particular note lately, nor have I read anything of great interest (except I am working through The Screwtape Letters, which I highly recommend because even though I knew they were supposed to be about serious stuff– they are, sometimes it gets a little cerebral– they’re also funny). I did have some wonderful birthday-related adventures, which involved snow, great food, some of my favorite people, the best hot chocolate of my life, games (SPOONS with Poncho flying across the table), fluffy tissue-paper flowers (which are still hanging up because I think we are all unsure of what to do with them now– they’re so pretty, how can we throw them away? Maybe I’ll give one of the really good turquoise ones to Bug, if she wants it), a winter hike, and more.

Oh, and for my birthday, Poncho’s incredibly generous gift to me was for me to watch him play on Minecraft. I didn’t expect it, but that turned out to be extremely fun, because he would do anything I asked him to. Like when I asked, “Can you set yourself on fire in this game?” His response was, “Hang on, let me go stand by some water.” And then he proceeded to set his guy on fire, and jump into a lake. He also fought zombies for me, put up with my pretending to be the voices of the villagers, and merely sighed when a chunk of his house got blown up and I laughed.

Now that all the holidays and celebrations are over, I am hoping to get cracking on some projects like the literary magazine Bug and I have been wanting to create. Plus I need a new knitting project. Plus I would really like to have some kind of outdoor-ish project to work on, but I can’t think what. Maybe it’s the gardening urge beginning to stir… I ordered my seeds yesterday! All on my own, thank you adulthood.

Oh, and speaking of being an adult…
Dad: “Well, Pen, from this day forward, if you get in trouble, you’re going to big person jail.”
Me: “Thanks.”

Ciao,
Pen

DSCN8407

2 thoughts on “an artsy coming-of-age film about artsy kids coming of age

  1. crescendocroise

    He he he!!! I only wish I could have seen Poncho fly across the table! Seventeen was a really great age, but I have to say I am sad to leave eighteen behind…I love you@

Leave a Reply

